They Say

Link

My body is a statement

The idea that I can love it is anathema

For something in me must be broken

 

They say

 

My choices are a statement

Daring to change for my health and my happiness

Is a crime against their God

 

So they say

 

Even a trip to the bathroom is a statement

It does not matter the man I am becoming

I should join the women in the ladies

 

So they say

 

The clothes I put on are a statement

I can try all I want

But I won’t be real until I pass

 

So they say

 

Enough of what they say!

My life is not something to be bandied on stage

Laughed off as a joke, or phrased as a debate

 

That is what I say

 

People who never walked in my shoes

Arguing for and against my right to be

A simple man, living his life is wrong

 

That is what I say

 

It is hard to stand tall in a life where

I am denied at every turn, where I know

My neighbors would happily see me burn, oh well

 

That is what I say

 

How difficult is it to accept that

The person living this life might

Know it better than you?

 

That is what I say

 

This hard skin won’t crack

Developed from years of being

Forced to hide in plain sight

 

That is what I say

 

Trying to live as best I know how, hearing

A damned politician pat himself on the back for

Allowing me the treatment I need, is wrong

 

That is what I say

 

They say this choice will lead me to burn

Their God does not make mistakes, but my only choice

Was to live a truth, or die from the lie

 

Hear what I have to say.

Leave a Reply

